The TN visa regulations provide temporary work authorization in twenty-five "General Occupations." The majority of these occupations require a bachelor's degree or professional license to qualify for TN visa status.

Six categories permit eligibility based on possession of a diploma and three years of experience. The only three categories where an individual may qualify for TN status based on experience alone are also found in this group (Scientific Technician, Management Consultant, and Disaster Relief Insurance Claim Adjuster).

The TN visa general jobs / occupations are:

  1. Accountant
  2. Architect
  3. Computer Systems Analyst
  4. Disaster Relief Insurance Claims Adjuster
  5. Economist
  6. Engineer
  7. Forester
  8. Graphic Designer
  9. Hotel Manager
  10. Industrial Designer
  11. Interior Designer
  12. Land Surveyor
  13. Landscape Architect
  14. Lawyer
  15. Librarian
  16. Management Consultant
  17. Mathematician / Statistician / Actuary
  18. Range Manager / Conservationist
  19. Research Assistant
  20. Scientific Technician / Technologist
  21. Social Worker
  22. Sylviculturist / Forestry Specialist
  23. Technical Publications Writer
  24. Urban Planner / Geographer
  25. Vocational Counselor