Mexico Ratifies, Canada Takes Steps, & the U.S. Stalls New NAFTA

On June 19, 2019, Mexico became the first country to ratify the new North American trade deal. Canada has introduced Bill C-100 in its efforts toward ratification of the new NAFTA deal. The Bill is expected to be ratified, but Canada plans only to move “in tandem” with the U.S. in passing the legislation. Meanwhile, in the U.S. Democrats continue to resist the Trump administration’s efforts to vote on the new deal this summer.